Below is a directory of current faculty in the Geography Department. Click on a faculty member’s name to visit his or her personal website. Also here is photo taken from the recent faculty retreat (Oct 23, 2015).

Faculty Contact
aaronm Javier Arce-Nazario
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 326
jarce@email.unc.edu
Landscape history, GIS-remote sensing, translational geoscience, critical physical geography, water and sustainability.
birdsall Stephen Birdsall
Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 223
(919) 962-3918 (phone)
birdsall@email.unc.edu
Social, landscapes & values, North America
xiaodong Xiaodong Chen
Assistant Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 319C
(919) 843-6326 (phone)
chenxd@email.unc.edu
Human-environment interactions, systems modeling and simulation, conservation ecology, environmental policy, GIS, China
cravey Altha Cravey
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 309
(919) 962-5157 (phone)
cravey@unc.edu
Latin America, social theory, third world development
florin Andrew Curley
Incoming Faculty – Fall 2018
Office: Carolina Hall 216
apcurley@email.unc.edu
Navajo (Diné), political ecology, indigenous sovereignty, water, coal and coal workers, development
Davis Jason Davis
Assistant Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 319B
jdavis36@live.unc.edu
International migration; remittances; fertility; children’s well-being (education and nutrition); land use change in Latin America.
Paul Paul L. Delamater
Assistant Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 217
(919)962-3922 (phone)
pld@email.unc.edu
Health and medical geography, access to health care, health care policy, spatial analysis, GIS.
emch Michael Emch
W.R. Kenan Jr., Distinguished Professor and Chair
Office: Carolina Hall 206
(919)843-1010 (phone)
emch@email.unc.edu
Medical geography, spatial epidemiology, health & environment, GIS
florin John Florin
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 223
(919) 962-3918 (phone)
jflorin@email.unc.edu
Population, historical anglo-America, medical
gray Clark Gray
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 308
(919) 962-3876 (phone)
cgray@email.unc.edu
Population, environment and development; survey and statistical methods
banu Banu Gökarıksel
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 307
(919) 843-5835 (phone)
banug@email.unc.edu
Cultural, feminist political geography; religion, secularism, pluralism; identity and subject formation; bodies and embodiment; Turkey, the Middle East
havice Elizabeth Havice
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 324
(919) 962-3414 (phone)
havice@email.unc.edu
Political economy, political ecology, international development, commodity studies, agrarian studies, environmental politics, natural resources, property, corporate power, science studies
kirsch Scott Kirsch
Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 306
(919) 962-3874 (phone)
kirsch@email.unc.edu
Historical, cultural, & political geography; history of science; social theory
konard Chip Konrad
Associate Professor and Director, SERCC
Office: Carolina Hall 305
(919) 962-3873 (phone)
cek@email.unc.edu
Climatology, climate change, meteorology
lentz Christian Lentz
Assistant Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 319A
(919) 843-7359 (phone)
cclentz@email.unc.edu
Development, state formation, nationalism, nature-society relations, agrarian studies, Southeast Asia
liang Jun Liang
Lecturer and GIS Technician
Office: Carolina Hall 218
(919) 962-3872 (phone)
liangj@email.unc.edu
GIS, Programming, Cartography, Urban Modeling, Remote Sensing
martin Nina Martin
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: Carolina Hall 224
(919) 962-3916 (phone)
ninam@email.unc.edu
Urban geography, global cities, civil society, migration, labor markets and economic development
aaronm Aaron Moody
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 211
(919) 962-5303 (phone)
aaronm@email.unc.edu
Conservation, Landscape Ecology, Biogeography, Remote Sensing, GIS
olson Elizabeth Ann Olson
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 225
(919) 962-6816 (phone)
eaolson@email.unc.edu
Development practices; normativity and moral geographies; participatory methodologies; religion and secularization; youth, class and precarity.
pickles John Pickles
Earl N. Phillips Distinguished Professor of International Studies
Office: Carolina Hall 219
(919) 962-3919 (phone)
jpickles@unc.edu
Globalization, economic geography, regional development, post-socialism, social and cultural theory, counter-cartographies
diego Diego Riveros-Iregui
Assistant Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 327
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 962-6814 (phone)
diegori@unc.edu
Ecohydrology, watershed hydrology, biogeochemistry, land-atmosphere interactions, tropical hydrology, climate and land use/land cover change
smith Sara Smith
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 222
(919) 962-3875 (phone)
shsmith1@email.unc.edu
Political, cultural, and feminist geography; intimacy, territory, and bodies; health politics; geopolitical subject formation; Ladakh; Jammu and Kashmir; South Asia
song Conghe Song
Professor and Associate Chair
Office: Carolina Hall 310
(919) 843-4764 (phone)
csong@email.unc.edu
Remote sensing, ecological modeling, forest ecosystems, land-cover/land-use change and climate change impacts on ecosystem functions, and GIS
gaby Gabriela Valdivia
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Office: Carolina Hall 315
919-962-3871 (phone)
valdivia@email.unc.edu
Latin America; environment, identity and governance; critical resource geography; political ecology
walsh Stephen Walsh
Lyle V. Jones Distinguished Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 318
Department of Geography
Chapel Hill, North Carolina Hall 27599
(919) 962-3867 & (919) 962-0927 (phone)
swalsh@email.unc.edu
Human-Environment Interactions, Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems, Spatial Simulation Models
wise Erika Wise
Associate Professor
Office: Carolina Hall 325
(919) 843-4762 (phone)
ekwise@email.unc.edu
Climatology, dendrochronology, water resources