Skip to main content
Below is a directory of current graduate students in the Geography Department.
Student Contact
biggs Mary Biggs
B.A., Bryn Mawr College
mbiggs22@live.unc.edu
Political ecology, cultural landscapes, memory, U.S. South
bista Rajesh Bista
B. S., Tribhuvan Univ., Nepal; M.A., Purbanchal Univ., Nepal
raaj@live.unc.edu
Human-Environment Interactions, Land Use Land Cover Change, Geospatial Analysis, Community Based Climate Change Adaptation
kate Kate Brandt
BA, Rutgers Univ.-New Brunswick, BS, Rutgers Univ.-New Brunswick
kebrandt@live.unc.edu
health geography, energy poverty in sub-Saharan Africa, human-environmental relationships, community based research
braun Amy Braun
B.S., M.A., University of Notre Dame
ambraun@live.unc.edu
Political economy, commons, peace and conflict studies, social theory
brown KD Brown
B.S Univ. of Georgia, MPH Univ. of North Carolina
brownkat@live.unc.edu
Environmental racism, political ecology, social justice, STS, public health, queer ecology, and the necropolitics of discard
julia Julia Cardwell
B.A, Davidson College
jmcard@email.unc.edu
Social vulnerability, extreme weather, climate change, land-use planning, GIS
braun Jordan Clark
B.A., UNC-Chapel Hill
jordan.clark@unc.edu
Climatology, meteorology, GIS, health geography
deanna Deanna K. Corin
B.A. Feminist Studies, UC Santa Cruz
Dea8@live.unc.edu
Feminist political geography, health geography, political ecology, wildfires
eck Montana A. Eck
B.A., UNC at Asheville. M.A., Appalachian State University
maeck@live.unc.edu
Climatology, Extreme Weather, Meteorology, Natural Hazards, Appalachian Mountains
eck Annie Elledge
B.A., The University of Texas at Austin
annieme@email.unc.edu
Feminist geography, political geography, gender, care, labor, development
Faulkner Sherah Faulkner
B.A., Agnes Scott College, M.A., Georgia State University
sherah@live.unc.edu
Feminist geography, social theory, the US South.
Sophia Sophia Graybill
B.A., M.Sc. Clark University
Sophia.graybill@unc.edu
Climate displacement, human-environment interactions, GIS, livelihoods, community-based research.
Ggoelómez Varun Goel
B.A, M.S, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
varung@live.unc.edu
Health Geography/ Disease Ecology, Spatial Epidemiology, GIS, Landscape genetics, Spatial Statistics.
Gómez Angélica María Gómez
B.S. Universidad de Antioquia, B.S. Institución Universitaria de Envigado, M.S. Universidad de Antioquia
amgomez@live.unc.edu
Tropical hydrology; Remote sensing; Ecohydrological Modeling.
Gupta Pallavi Gupta
M.A., Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai and BSL LLB , Indian Law Society’s (ILS) Law College, Pune
pallavigupta@unc.edu
Human geography, Feminist Geography, Gender, and Law.
Hall Adrienne Hall
B.S., University of Southern California; MPH, San Francisco State University
adriennh@live.unc.edu
Critical public health, Black Geographies, digital humanities
hawkins Michael Hawkins
BA at University of Arizona
hawkins4@live.unc.edu
Cultural and human geography, military bases, Philippines
Faulkner Lily Herbert
B.A., UNC-Chapel Hill
lherbert@live.unc.edu
Feminist geography, geographies of religion, Middle East.
hernandez Manuel Hernandez
B.S., M.S. – Texas A&M University
mhernan@live.unc.edu
Climate modeling, large-scale climate dynamics, water resources, climate variability, paleoclimate, monsoons
doug Doug Hopping
B.A. Brandeis University

Demography, Population-Environment Interactions, Migration
carl Carl Jurkowski
B.S., California University of Pennsylvania; M.S., Idaho State University
carljurk@ad.unc.edu
Dendroclimatology, paleoclimate, water resources, historical climatology
laso Francisco Laso
B.A., Columbia Univ. M.Sc., Univ.of Montpellier II, Univ. of Groningen
laso@live.unc.edu
Agroecosystems, complex adaptive systems, conservation, ecology, evolution, human-environment interactions, Galapagos, Ecuador.
lara Lara Lookabaugh
BA,Univ. of Florida,MLIS, Florida State Univ.,MA, Univ. of Florida
lwl@live.unc.edu
Political ecology, gender and climate change, post-development, feminist methodologies, environmental justice, Mexico, Guatemala.
Malki Andreina Malki
B.A., Furman University; M.A., UNC-Chapel Hill
amalki@email.unc.edu
Legal geography, territory, sovereignty, corporate power, Latin America
devon Devon Maloney
BS, University of St Andrews
dvm@ad.unc.edu
Remote sensing, GIS, arid environments, agriculture and food systems
cait Caitilin McMillan
BA,Queen’s University;MSc,University of Oxford, UK
caitilin@live.unc.edu
Indigenous peoples, refugees, belonging, contested space, peacebuilding, conflict resolution
ingrid Ingrid Diaz Moreno
BA, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana;MA, Universidad Nacional de Colombia
ingrida@live.unc.edu
Political ecology, development studies, gender, labor, Latin America
christopher Trey Murphy
B.S., M.S., Texas A&M University

Energy geography, fracking, political-economy/ecology, hydrocarbon governance, Texas
Murray Andrew Murray
B.A., M.A., Univ. Of Cincinnati
armurray@live.unc.edu
Surface/Groundwater Hydrology,Geocomputation,Data Visualization
christopher Christopher Neubert
B.A., Grinnell College

Cultural geography, social theory, biopower, spaces of resistance, postcolonial feminism, Sri Lanka
ortiz Mark Ortiz
B.A., The University of Alabama
marcoso@live.unc.edu
Political Ecology, Climate Politics, Environmental Humanities, Critical development studies
padley Michelle Padley
B.A., Trinity University
mpadley@live.unc.edu
Feminist Geography, Political Geography, Legal Geography, Urban Neoliberalisms.
becky Rebecca Patterson-Markowitz
B.A., M.A., University of Arizona
beckypm@live.unc.edu
Feminist geographies, ontologies of the body, trauma, geographies of healing, the ethics and politics of care.
nick Nick Scheffer
B.A., New College of Florida
nscheff@live.unc.edu
Land degradation, food security, Haiti, political ecology, science and technology studies .
roya Karly Schmidt-Simard
B.S., M.S. Indiana University

Dendroclimatology, hydroclimate, water resources, paleoclimate, stable isotopes
carlos Carlos Serrano
B.A., Florida International University
car24@live.unc.edu
Social/labor movements, critical social theory, Latin America, political geography, participatory action research
carlos Cyrus Sinai
B.A. University of California, Los Angeles
sinai@unc.edu
Health geography; spatial epidemiology; infectious diseases; energy poverty and health in sub-Saharan Africa; disease surveillance in remote, resource-limited settings.
rachel Rachel L. Woodul
B.A., UNC-Chapel Hill
rachel.woodul@unc.edu
Health geography, GIS, climate-health vulnerability, infectious disease, hazardous extremes