Below is a directory of current graduate students in the Geography Department.
Student Contact
arevalo Eloisa Berman- Arévalo
BSc UMass-Amherst; MSc University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
elober@live.unc.edu
Political mobilization, land/ territory, identities, agrarian change, Latin America
braun Amy Braun
B.S., M.A., University of Notre Dame
ambraun@live.unc.edu
Political economy, commons, peace and conflict studies, social theory
rachel Rachel Cotterman
BA, Oberlin College.
amgomez@live.unc.edu
Rural spaces, urbanization, oral history, action research, race and class in the American South
redy Madeline Giefer
B.S., University of Minnesota
mmgiefer@live.unc.edu
Research keywords: China, human-environment interaction, land use change.
Ggoelómez Varun Goel
B.A, M.S, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
varung@live.unc.edu
Health Geography/ Disease Ecology, Spatial Epidemiology, GIS, Landscape genetics, Spatial Statistics.
Gómez Angélica María Gómez
B.S. Universidad de Antioquia, B.S. Institución Universitaria de Envigado, M.S. Universidad de Antioquia
amgomez@live.unc.edu
Hydrology, Critical Zone Processes, Tropical Regions, GIS.
redy Fredy R. Grefa
B.S., Universidad San Francisco de Quito; M.A., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; M.C.R.P.,UNC-CH
fgrefa@live.unc.edu
Environmental Planning, Urban and Regional Planning, Climate Change, Carbon Trade, Natural Resources Management, Indigenous Peoples, Amazon Region, Governance.
hawkins Michael Hawkins
BA at University of Arizona
hawkins4@live.unc.edu
Cultural and human geography, military bases, Philippines
hernandez Manuel Hernandez
B.S., M.S. – Texas A&M University
mhernan@live.unc.edu
Climate modeling, large-scale climate dynamics, water resources, climate variability, paleoclimate, monsoons
doug Doug Hopping
B.A. Brandeis University

Demography, Population-Environment Interactions, Migration
jones Chris Jones
B.S. UNC-CH with Highest Honors
cjones21@live.unc.edu
Biogeography, Invasion Ecology, Ecological Modeling, GIS, Community Ecology, Landscape Ecology, Statistical Methods
Keeler Corinna Keeler
B.A., Grinnell College
cykeeler@live.unc.edu
Health geography, infectious disease, GIS modeling, spatial analytics, human-environment interactions
laso Francisco Laso
B.A., Columbia Univ. M.Sc., Univ.of Montpellier II, Univ. of Groningen
laso@live.unc.edu
Agroecosystems, complex adaptive systems, conservation, ecology, evolution, human-environment interactions, Galapagos, Ecuador.
john John Lovette
BS College of William & Mary

GIS, water resources, land cover/land use change, ecohydrology
angus Angus Lyall
B.A., Columbia University; M.A., Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales – Ecuador

Political economy of development, political ecology, agrarian studies, social mobilization, ethnography, Latin America
marshall Lisa Marshall
B.A., Carleton University, Canada; Graduate Certificate in GIS., NCSU
lisammarshall@yahoo.com
Science Studies, Cultural Geography, GIS
maxwell Sara Maxwell
M.S. with Distinction, the University of New Mexico; B.A., Columbia University
willmax@live.unc.edu
Ethnobotany, Ecology, Actor-Network Theory, Human-Environment Interactions, Conservation, Rural Livelihoods, Indigenous People
christopher Trey Murphy
B.S., M.S., Texas A&M University

Energy geography, fracking, political-economy/ecology, hydrocarbon governance, Texas
christopher Christopher Neubert
B.A., Grinnell College

Cultural geography, social theory, biopower, spaces of resistance, postcolonial feminism, Sri Lanka
ocal Devran Koray Ocal
B.A., Kocaeli University; M.A., Istanbul Technical University
dkocal@live.unc.edu
Human geography, Transnational Muslims, Turkey
ortiz Mark Ortiz
B.A., The University of Alabama
marcoso@live.unc.edu
Political Ecology, Climate Politics, Environmental Humanities, Critical development studies
padley Michelle Padley
B.A., Trinity University
mpadley@live.unc.edu
Urban Geography, housing policy & Low Income Tax Credit Housing, politics of the everyday.
tong Tong Qiu
B.E., Wuhan University
tongqiu@live.unc.edu
Remote sensing of vegetation, ecosystem modeling, land use land cover change, coupled human-environment systems.
reddy Sertanya Reddy
B.A., University of KwaZulu-Natal; MSc, University of Edinburgh
sertanyr@live.unc.edu
Social geography, Internationalization of higher education, Youth Geographies, Feminist Geographies
scaife Charles Isaac Scaife
B.S., UNC at Chapel Hill
scaife@email.unc.edu
Hydrologic and land use change modeling in urbanizing watersheds; green infrastructure; ecohydrological processes.
roya Karly Roya Schmidt
B.S., M.S. Indiana University

Dendroclimatology, hydroclimate, water resources, paleoclimate, streamflow
sarah Sarah Schmitt
B.S., Elon University

Hydrology, Ecology, Biogeochemical fluxes, Climate change
scott Darius Scott
dariuss@live.unc.edu 
Urban geography, qualitative research, education
vasudevan Pavithra Vasudevan
B.A., Duke University
pavithra@email.unc.edu 
Political ecology, Environmental justice, Participatory research, Performance and Visual Ethnography
Priscilla
Priscilla Vaz
privaz@email.unc.edu